Best Ever Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting for a Good Cause

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

First off,  HAPPY LABOR DAY! I hope everyone in the States is having a lovely extra day off with family and friends.  I’m sure a few of you are making my No Hassle Burgers and Healthy Potato Salad.  Now here is your dessert!

Gobs of gooey sweet cream cheese frosting surrounds this moist carrot cake filled with lovely comforting spice. You know I love recipes that use up leftovers (those last two carrots in the bottom of your crisper) and are most likely already in your cupboard. Well this recipe takes care of both of those things plus it tastes like a bit of heaven and incidentally goes great with a glass of cava, you’ll see later.

Never fear my lovely friends, this post may be coming out a little later than usual but I would never miss Monster Recipe Monday at Lauriebell’s blog!  I had a busy morning at the passport office sorting my little dove’s British passport before our mass exodus to the States.  But I’m back now and ready to share the recipe that will light up your week. So you may remember a few posts ago I told you about how our neighbors downstairs had a cute little baby girl named Eleanor (love that name!)  Well this was the yummy carrot cake I made as a sweet treat for the food bundle I made to congratulate them.

New Baby Food Bundle with carrot cake, cream cheese frosting, quiche, arugula and spinach soup, homemade bread and tuna salad spread.

carrot cake with homemade vintage food label

I had fully planned to drop it off and run away as I know when I first got home from the hospital, after Layla’s birth, I didn’t want to see anyone. Instead I was warmly greeted, ushered inside and handed a glass of cava.  They were kind enough to pull out the carrot cake and serve me a piece.  She honestly is a superwoman!  She looked great, Eleanor was a doll and I had a lovely visit with them.  This cake is moist, lightly spiced and oh so good…it’s even better when it brings friends together.

The recipe comes from the Bake for Bumps website, an event that raises money for Sparks children charity.  In tracking down the original recipe I realized they actually have a little video on how to make it.  I have my own ways below but worth taking a look.  I also do a completely different frosting.  If you want to donate a little something to the wonderful people over at Sparks you can use this link.  Go on, you’ll feel good about yourself for helping beautiful, innocent babies.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup / 175 g light brown sugar
3/4 cup / 175 ml sunflower oil
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
1.5 cups / 140 g grated carrot (about 3 carrots)
1 cup / 100 g raisins
Zest of 1 orange (keep the rest of the orange for the Cream Cheese Frosting)
1.5 cups / 175 g self-raising flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg

Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Here

Carrot Cake Ingredients - Carrots, eggs, raisins, vegetable oil, orange, flour

Instructions:

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 F / 160 C. Grease and flour your pan. I used a spring form pan. I greased the pan, lined the bottle and sides with parchment paper and greased the paper. But hey, that’s just me. I believe it was an 8 inch round pan.  Also would be good in a tube or bundt pan.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the brown sugar, oil and eggs. Nothing fancy here, you can do it all by hand.  I had the mixer out already,  but not necessary.

3. Grate your carrot and zest your orange.

Three organic carrots

These are from my weekly organic veg box delivery. I love it!

4. Dump in your carrot, orange zest and raisins.

5. In a medium bowl, mix together your self-raising flour, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Add your cinnamon to the flour mixture

Mix your dry ingredients together

6. Sift your flour mixture into your wet mixture and stir until just combined. Be aware that this is a wet mixture.

7. Pour the mixture into your pan and bake for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle of the cake.

8. Make your Cream Cheese Frosting, recipe found here. Set aside.

9. Allow the cake to cool for a couple of minutes before removing from the pan.  Peel off the parchment and allow to cool on a wire rack completely.

NOTE: You can freeze the cake at this point for a later day.

10. Once cool, cut the cake in half horizontally.  Frost the top of the bottom layer, add the top layer and frost the rest of the cake.  I added a bit of fun green sugar decoration that I had and a bit of leftover orange zest.

11.  Let the frosting set. I do this in the fridge, especially on a hot day.  Serve to friends and loved ones. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

