No Hassle Cheeseburgers and Hamburgers

Doesn’t this picture just make you salivate?!  Nothing shouts SUMMER like a hot juicy burger.  Burgers can be so individualized as you can top them with whatever you like.  Slap a runny  egg on there, why not?! How about some green chillies and mix up some chipotle mayo? Or keep it simple with a naked burger on a wholewheat bun.  The possibilities are endless. The best part about this recipe is that it only has a handful of ingredients and you most likely have them in your kitchen right this minute!  Let’s make some burgers!

My mum used to make burgers as a quick dinner when she had just rushed home from work and had 4 yappin’ mouths to feed (3 kids and a husband).  I can see her now, whipping around the kitchen defrosting the meat and getting out the skillet.  This is not her recipe but reminds me of her yummy quick burgers. To be honest I’m not sure where this recipe originated.  I’ve had it for a few years now and it’s my standard go to recipe. It’s moist and flavorful and gets the job done in no time.  Perfect for the grill or in a skillet on the stove.  Oh and did I mention you can make them ahead of time to bring to friends’ BBQs? Well you can!  Serve it up with some Healthy Potato Salad or some Baked Potato Wedges and some corn on the cob and you’ll be on cloud nine.

TIP:  When using only a few simple ingredients the key is to have the best quality you can find.  So make sure your grounded beef is top quality and super lean.  The fattier the burger meat the more they will shrink.

Ingredients:

1 lb/400-500g lean ground/minced beef (I try to get 10% or less)
1 tablespoon minced or grated onion
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
Pinch of salt and pepper
American, Pepperjack or Cheddar cheese slices (optional)
Suggested toppings: Red onion rings, lettuce, tomato slices, green chillies, runny fried egg, blue cheese, smoked bacon, ketchup, mustard, relish, pickles…I could go on and on

Instructions:

1. Start your grill or skillet going to a medium to high heat.

2. Chop up your onion and parsley.

3. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl until just combined.  Don’t work too much or the burgers can get tough.  Form into uniform patties about 3/4 inch thick.

4. Grill or cook on the stove in a skillet.  If cooking in a skillet, oil the skillet a bit before placing the burgers inside.  For well done burgers, which I prefer (I was always taught, “If I’m pink in the middle, I’m cooked too little!”), cook for about 4 minutes on each side.  Do not press on the burgers as the juices keep it moist.  Note that cooking times could vary especially when using a grill.

If you would like to make your burger a cheeseburger, add a slice or two of cheese during the last minute or two of cooking.  If cooking on the stove it helps to pop a cover over your burger to help the cheese melt but not necessary.

5.  Serve naked, on a bun and/or with as many toppings as you like.  Goes particularly nice with Healthy Potato Salad.  Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “No Hassle Cheeseburgers and Hamburgers

  1. That picture make me want to pick up the hamburger and eat it right now. I haven’t had my breakfast so I’m damn hungry and when I see food like this…my stomach growls. and with that mayo on top, delicious. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

