Healthy Potato Salad

Listen, I know your grandma’s potato salad is the best but hear me out.  This recipe is just as tasty but twice as nice because it cuts most of the fat out.  You know the globs of mayo (that I do love) that just weigh you down on a hot summer’s day.  So change it up and give this scrummy tasty tater salad a try.  Oh and did I mention it has bacon!  Now that I’ve got your attention…let’s read on!

So I know it is still the beginning of August but Labor Day is just around the corner and this is a must have recipe.  (In the UK you have the August Bank Holiday coming up too!)  And let’s face it, our summer days are numbered so host as many BBQs as possible!  Plus next week I’m going to show you a kickass super easy burger recipe that goes great with this spudtastic side dish.  You can serve this bad boy up warm or cold but I particularly like it warm, it really sets the bacon and onions off nicely.

This recipe is another random creation based on cravings.  After making the Low Fat Strawberry Gateau, I realised what an amazing product fat free Greek yogurt can be.  I instantly thought what a great replacement it would make in potato salad.  Then I thought of the most incredible potato salad I’d ever had and I started to drool.

The best potato salad in the world is the Cajun Fried Potato Salad at Fatty’s Pub & Grill in Dekalb, IL.  Some of my favorite people on this Earth introduced me to it and I’ve been trying to figure out the recipe ever since.  This recipe is not an attempt to recreate that but is a healthy inspiration of that dish.  If you want to know more about Fatty’s famous potato salad check out this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54-nE6YNoyU

BIG NEWS – So if you follow me on Facebook then you already know that Lauriebell’s is up and moving!  After 5.5 wonderful years in London it’s time to go home.  Though I would say London is my home now too and there are so many people I will miss.  My husband, our baby girl and I are attemping to pack all our important possessions into about 10 suitcases and on September 24th the lovely people over at Virgin Atlantic will be flying us to the good old USA!  We will be staying with my folks until we find our feet but I have a feeling we’ll settle in NYC!  So stay tuned!  The adventures continue!  And don’t worry I’ll be blogging all the way through.

Okay enough chit chat already!  Let’s eat!

Ingredients:

1 lb/ 500 g potatoes  – I used some small Charlotte potatoes
1-2 tablespoons vegetable oil
Salt & pepper
1 chopped hard boiled egg
1-2 strips chopped cooked crispy bacon
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon wholegrain mustard
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
2 heaped tablespoons of fat freek Greek yogurt – I suggest you use something like Dannon Oikos Plain Greek Nonfat Yogurt in the US or Total 0% Greek Yogurt in the UK
1 teaspoon relish or 1 teaspoon pickle (gherkin) juice
1 small pickle (gherkin) like a cornichon
4 spring onions or 1/2 small white/yellow onion

Instructions:

1. Get water boiling for your spuds in a medium to large pan.  Wash your potatoes and cut any of then in half that may be larger than most of the others, just to keep everything uniform in size.  Or if using larger potatoes, cut into uniform diced pieces.  Boil until tender (a sharp knife can easily pass through.)

TIP: I like using smaller tubers so that it saves me the step of chopping.  And I don’t even peel them.  I just leave the skin on.  Tastier in my opinion.

2. If you don’t have any hard boiled eggs about then you better get to boiling those too.  I add my eggs to cold water in as small a pot as I have to hold the eggs. Once the water comes to a boil I turn off the heat, cover the pot and leave the eggs for 7 minutes. I then remove the cover, drain the hot water and let the pot with the eggs sit under running cold water for several minutes before peeling and dicing the eggs.

3. Oh yeah and if you don’t have any cooked bacon about you may want to get that going too.  I used back bacon (common in the UK) which is quite lean.  Cook bacon as you normally would and when cool enough to handle give it a chop. If using US bacon (called streaky bacon in the UK) then try to render as much of the fat out as possible when cooking to save your waistline.)

4.  Optional:  Okay, this step is optional and makes this recipe slightly less healthy but you can skip this step and it would still be super delish. For the healthier option drain your potatoes and place directly into a large mixing bowl then go to the next step.

Drain your boiled potatoes and put back in the pot and back on the stove but off the heat.  Give them a minute to let the steam rise and dry the spuds a bit.  While that is happening, in a large frying pan get some vegetable oil nice and hot over a medium-high heat.  Gently pour in your spuds, sprinkle with salt and pepper and give a quick toss.  Allow them to brown (about 5 minutes for me) and then give another quick toss and let them brown further (another 3-5 minutes).  Just enough to give them a bit of a toasting.  When finished pour the potatoes into a large mixing bowl.

5. Throw your chopped eggs and bacon in with your potatoes.

6. Chop up your onions and pickle and get them in the mix as well.

7.  Add your relish or pickle juice, grain mustard, dijon mustard and paprika.

Ignore the fact that I used 1/4 teaspoon – You must add a whole teaspoon of paprika.

7.  Give the potato salad a gentle mix.

8. Now is time for to add your secret weapon, the fat free Greek yogurt.

9. Give your salad a final gentle mixing and give it a tasted.  Adjust any flavors to your taste by adding a bit more of this or that until you have it just as you want it.  Then serve it up warm or cold.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Healthy Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

