Fruity Oat Cake – Bananas, apples and raisins, OH MY!

I threw this cake together with what I had leftover in my fruit bowl and some cupboard staples.  Moist, sweet but not too sweet and packed with soft fruits.  This is one of the dishes I’m the proudest of because it was DELICIOUS, simple and helped use up some still useful but nearly overripe fruit.  I hate waste.  Get on this! I know it looks too healthy but I swear it tastes fantastic, like an oatmeal cookie jazzed up and turned into a great cake.  Serve with tea for added sophistication.

The older I get the more I realise the importance of community and humanity. Before we moved to our most recent flat, we lived in a block of about 12 flats for 3 years. We didn’t know anyone there. For three years! I’m very lucky that is no longer the case. We moved to a lovely suburb of Southwest London and had a baby. These two changes really changed everything. I now have 9 new friends in my area whose babies were all born around the same time. We meet as often as we can and it’s been immensely helpful. It’s helped me have the courage to start introducing myself to my neighbors, as well.   I now know all of our immediate neighbors. Three of four of these households have new babies.

I think food is a great way to bring people together. So as you saw from my last post, when my downstairs neighbors had their baby I made them a Welcome Home food bundle. But now we have a new neighbor. So a cake of some kind was in order.

I had some brown bananas and a wizened apple that needed using. I knew I had some rolled oats and raisins too. So this was my new experiment and it was a success. I dropped it off with a bottle of wine and our phone number.  They are lovely.  How lucky we are to have food to open doors to new friendships.

The base of this recipe is from the LilyAnette Banana Oat Bread recipe blog, another Pinterest find.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup/50 g light brown sugar
1/4 cup/60 g softened butter
1 egg
1 cup/125 g flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup/25 g rolled oats (plus a bit more to top your cake)
1-2 brown bananas
1-2 apple
1/2 cup of raisins

Instructions:

1.  Preheat the over to 350 F/ 160 C and grease your cake pan.  I used a 9 in spring form pan and I also lined the bottom with parchment paper.

2. Cream your butter and light brown sugar together until pale and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes.

3.  Beat the egg into your butter cream mixture until well incorporated.

4. In a small bowl blend together your flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.

5. Peel and mash your banana(s) and peel and dice your apple.

6.  Add your dry flour mixture to your butter cream and mix until just incorporated.  Add the oats and mix.

7. Add your mashed banana, diced apple and raisins and stir until evenly distributed in the batter.

8. Pour your mixture into your pan, sprinke with oats and bake for 20 – 30 minutes.

9. Serve at brunch with a cup of tea.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

