Summery Corn Salsa Salad

The first bite I had of this salsa screamed, “SUMMMER!” right in my face.  Zesty, crunchy and oh so refreshing.  A great topper for tacos, as a side, layer onto salmon or to be scooped up with a crispy, salty tortilla chip.  Goes great with my Healthy Chicken Soft Tacos.  This recipe tastes even better if you make it the night before and let the flavors marry.

While researching how to start this recipe, I found that the one I loved the most was Perfect Grilled Corn Salsa by the Minimalist Baker. I love the idea of using grilled corn for this, though today’s recipe calls for what I had in my kitchen stores at the time…frozen corn.  The Minimalist Baker has great recipes as well as some beautiful photography.  Sadly my pictures won’t compare but I plan to take her photography e-course so maybe you’ll see a difference in a few weeks.

It’s been crazy hot here in London!  I’m not complaining because it rarely happens and when it does it is fleeting.  However, I had my first official commission for a cake this week and I was terrified the heat would melt my work.  Luckily the fridge was chilly cold and kept the cake from sweating to death.  My client, indeed a friend, requested a tiered vanilla sponge with a strawberry buttercream.  I had planned to make three tiers with the sponge tinted ombre style of white then pale pink then hot pink.  But the normal food coloring here isn’t strong enough.  So Seriously, I used an entire bottle and it didn’t change the color at all.  I tinted the frosting instead and went with roses as she was having a mexican themed party.  I always thing of roses when I think of Mexico.  She reported back that the cake was a great success and she got a lot of compliments on the cake.  Which was a big relief to me as I’d thrown away the first two cakes I’d made for her!  (Long story.)

I also spent two days in the kitchen preparing a Welcome Home bundle for our neighbors.  They just a little baby and I know how hectic those first few days can be.  Someone was wonderful enough to give us a food bundle when we brought home our own little bundle and it just felt like the right thing to do…food it forward.  I made a Quiche, Arugula Soup, fresh baked bread, Tuna Salad Sandwich Spread and a Carrot Cake (recipe coming soon).  I got a little carried away and wrapped everything in butchers string and parchment paper and added little vintage labels.  I planned to just drop it off, as they had only just come home from the hospital the night before, but I found I was being ushered in and handed a glass of cava and slices a piece of the cake I’d made.  What a treat!  They even bought me a beautiful bouquest of gerber daisies, one of my favorites.  It’s been a good week.  Back to the recipe.

Instructions:

1.5 cups or 210 g frozen corn (You are welcome to use fresh corn or even grilled corn)
2 tablespoons cilantro (Coriander in the UK), chopped finely
2 tablespoons red onion, diced
1 small tomato, diced (with the seeds and watery insides removed)
2 tablespoons red bell pepper
1/2 small red chili
Salt & Pepper
Lime

BTW, this is how I write our recipes while I’m making them.

Ingredients:

1.  Put your frozen corn in a pot, cover with water and boil over high heat until the corn is tender.  This usually takes about 5-7 minutes.  Drain the corn and put in a medium bowl.

2.  Chop your cilantro, red onion, tomato, red pepper and red chili.  Add to the corn.

3.  Add salt and pepper to the salsa.  This is to taste but I started with 1/4 teaspoon course sea salt and a dash of ground pepper.

4.  Add the juice of one lemon.

5. Mix it all together.

6.  Cool in the fridge for at least an hour but the longer it sits the better the flavors marry.  Serve with tortilla chips or tacos.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

