Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes

Don’t get me wrong, food doesn’t always have to be scratchmade especially with amazingly convenient pancake mixes. However, when you are craving pancakes and you’ve run out of pancake mix (which is exactly what happened to me) this recipe will save you. This is the best scratchmade pancake recipe I have found and I think that is due to the use of self-rising flour and baking soda that makes the hotcakes so fluffy. Serve up with some yummy Easy Blueberry Syrup and you’ll be in heaven.

This recipe comes straight from the King Arthur Flour website. I was specifically looking for a pancake recipe that uses self-raising flour as I had some in the cabinet that I needed to use up. Got to love Pinterest! I’ve got some great tips for this recipe, too. The first is to not forget that pancakes are one of the easiest foods to freeze and later only take 1-2 minutes to zap back to deliciousness. The second is that an empty clean squeezy bottle is a great way to portion out your pancake batter (see below).

Ingredients:

1.5 cups or 185 g self-rising flour
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1 cup or 235 ml buttermilk or yogurt (I used milk and added lemon juice to curdle the milk)
2 tbsp vegetable oil or melted butter

Instructions:

1. Mix your flour, sugar and baking soda together in a large bowl.

2. Pour out your buttermilk. Or if you are like me and don’t have buttermilk, add the juice of 1/2 a lemon to 1 cup milk to curdle the milk.

3. Add the egg to the milk and whisk together.

4. Add the oil or melted butter to the milk mixture.

5. Add the liquid mixture to the dry ingredients and whisk until well mixed. Let the mixture sit for at least 3-4 minutes so the raising agents can activate.

6. For a great tip, pour the batter into a empy, clean squeezy bottle (like a ketchup bottle). I found this great tip here with 99 other tips for an easier life.

7. Put a large skillet on a medium-high heat. Brush lightly with vegetable oil. (I know the oil in the batter is supposed to help prevent sticking but I always find I still need to lightly grease the skillet.)

8. Portion out the batter into your desired pancake size.

9. When the pancakes have air bubbles rising to the surface it is time to flip them.

10. Serve hot and enjoy! (see below for tips on freezing)

11. If you have any pancakes leftover then you should definately freeze them. Just let the pancakes sit on a wire rack until completely cooled.

12. Put a few pancakes into a freezer ziplock bag and pop in the freezer. They should last a month or two in there and when you are ready for pancakes just pop them out of the bag and onto a plate and microwave for a minute or two. Easy!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Hi! I found you on Bloggy Moms and I am excited to follow your blog! Everything looks super tasty and I love a good blog with original photography! It’s one of my favorite parts of reading a blog, seeing how well words and pictures can be incorporated together. Keep up the great posts!!! and check out my blog if you get a chance http://indiasroses.wordpress.com

    • Hi there!
      Thank you so much for stopping by and letting me know you like what you see. Just checked out your blog and it’s refreshingly honest, like talking to friend. Looking forward to more posts from my fellow Bloggy Mom! (As I write this I am rocking my baby girl in the dark desperately hoping she’ll go back to sleep for at least another hour. Mommy’s work is never done!) looking forward to chatting again soon!

Leave a Reply

