Herby Lamb Rump Steaks

Lamb is quite a common dish in the UK but I don’t think it is used nearly enough in the States. It has a mild but flavorful taste that goes well with rosemary and garlic. My mouth is watering already! The herb butter in this recipe could be used with any cut of lamb but in this case I’ve used some lamb rump steaks. Your house will smell amazing and they go great with my Baked Potato Wedges.

I thought I was ordering beef rump steaks but was pleasantly suprised when lamb rump steak turned up. I love a Sunday lamb roast and thought these steaks would be great for a Sunday treat. I never had tried lamb until I came to the UK. It’s funny how your tastes change and how you become more adventurous over time. I hated raw tomatoes until I was 16 then I had one dipped in homemade Italian dressing. Since then I can’t get enough! I love a fresh tomato with a little salt and pepper. Mmmmm… *wipes drool away* I’ve found I also like bananas again (after overdosing as a child) and I enjoy more seafood and now lamb! I encourage you to try new foods or even old ones you thought you didn’t like…you might be surprised.

Ingredients:

Lamb rump steaks (at least one for each person but the herb butter proportions are for 4 steaks)
2-3 tablespoons softened butter
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 teaspoon finely chopped rosemary
1 teaspoon finely chopped chives
1 teaspoon finely chopped flat leaf parsley
1 teaspoon finely chopped thyme
1 clove garlic
Salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Pull your lamb steaks out of the fridge and allow to sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes before cooking. Pat dry with paper towels.

2. Add about 1 teaspoon each of finely chopped rosemary, thyme, chive and flat leaf parsley, 1 clove minced garlic and 1 teaspoon dijon mustard to 2-3 tablespoons softened butter. Give a good mix.

3. Put half of the herb butter in a frying pan on a medium heat until melted.

4. Season your steaks with salt and pepper on each side then place in the frying pan on the butter.

5. After 4 minutes turn the steaks and add the rest of the butter and turn the steaks. Cook for another 2 – 4 minutes on the other side depending on your doneness preference.

6. Place your steaks in a piece of foil and allow to rest for a few minutes before serving.

7. Serve hot and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

