Quick Couscous

Sometimes a lavish dish can be made from the simplest of recipes.  This quick couscous only involves a handful of ingredients, looks beautiful and is always a hit.  This recipe only has 4 steps and can be made in less than 10 minutes.

For those of you unfamiliar with couscous, it is a form of semolina that is cooked by adding boiling water and allowing it to puff up the couscous.  It is often served with a thick stew in European and African nations but also goes great as a side salad at a summer picnic served with our Poulet Sauté.

This is just the kind of fresh food I can see being served at Lauriebell’s Bakery & Cafe someday.  I’m so excited because I have just ordered my first textbook on food and beverage cost control.  This is just another step towards my dream.  Especially now that my little eggplant (aubergine in the UK) aka Layla is around, my resolve is stronger than ever. I can’t wait to be serving customers good, wholesome food with my children tugging at my apron.  Lauriebell’s has always been based around family, not just my own but also those the patrons.  Everyone is welcome to relax at Lauriebell’s.

costcontrol

eggplant

Some alternative additions could be grilled or roasted vegetables such as grilled zucchini (courgette in the UK), eggplant (aubergine in the UK), roasted red pepper, grilled red onion and/or artichokes.  You could also do a cold version with diced tomatoes, olives and fresh herbs.  The possibilities are endless.

Ingredients:

Plain couscous
1/2 medium red onion diced
1/2 red pepper diced
1/3 cup or 65g cubed feta
2 tablespoons chopped parsley (optional)
Extra virgin olive oil

Instructions:

1. Follow the instructions on the package of couscous.  For the one I made,I added 300 ml or 1 and 1/2 cups of boiling water to 250g of couscous.  I stirred the couscous, covered with plastic wrap and left for 5 minutes.  I fluffed it with a fork and tested the texture. To me it was too dry so I added a little more boiled water a bit at a time, mixed and tested again until it was the correct texture to my liking (which was about another 1/2 cup or 115 ml).

2.  While the couscous is soaking dice the red pepper and red onion. Add to couscous.

3. Cube the feta, about a 1 inch by 3 inch block.  And chop the parsley.  Add to couscous and mix.

4.  Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and serve warm or cold.

Leave a Reply

