Cinnamon Apple Muffins

I used to work at a college in a rural town about 2 hours north of Pittsburgh. There are three things that stick with me about my time there.  The first is that I met one of my greatest friends there and I am so thankful to have her in my life.  The second is that it had the most beautiful country campus with lots of flora and lovely leafy trees. The last was that the ladies in the cafeteria made some delicious cinnamon apple muffins.  The best part about these muffins was the big chunks of apple inside.  It was a very dissappointing day when I went down to the little cafe in the student union and they were sold out.

This recipe reminds me of those yummy muffins though it is an adaptation of the Apple Cake with Cinnamon Sugar Topping in the More from Magnolia cookbook by the infamous Allysa Torey of Magnolia Bakery fame.  My mum bought me this cookbook as a wedding present and it has proved a great staple in my house.  In Allysa’s recipe she uses canned apple filling and makes a coffee type cake from the recipe.  I’ve slightly adapted it to use fresh apples, as I’m not very keen on the canned apple filling I’ve found in the UK, and it can be used for muffins or makes a lovely breakfast bundt.

I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

Makes about 15 muffins

  • 2 cups or about 230g flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup or 155 mlvegetable oil (I use sunflower typically)
  • 1 cup or 250g sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup or 235 ml milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 medium cooking apples (I used Granny Smith but any sour cooking apple will do)
  • 1/4 cup or 60g sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions

1.  Turn the over to 325 F or 160 C.  Mix your flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

2. In a large bowl combine oil, cup of sugar and eggs. Beat on medium-high until pale and airy.

3. Combine the milk and vanilla extract.

4.  While mixing on a low speed add the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder and salt) alternatively with the milk and vanilla extract mixture.  Adding about a third at a time to the pale oil and sugar mixture until all is incorporated.  Don’t over mix.

5.  In the empy flour bowl combine the remaining sugar with the cinnamon.  This helps to do before you cut the apples so that you can toss them in the mixture as you cut each one which helps to prevent them from browning.

6.  Peel, core and cube 3 of the apples into 1-1.25 cm cubes. I like my apples chunky.  As you finish an apple toss it in the cinnamon and sugar mixture.

7.  Pour the apples into the muffin batter and use a spoon to give them a gentle stir.

8. Line a muffin tin with paper cases and fill each case until about 3/4 full.  Try to evenly distribute the apples.

9. Bake the muffins for 15 minutes.

10.  At this stage you can peel and cut up the last apple into thin slices, remove the seeds and place on top of some of the muffins.  Pop back in the oven to cook until a tester comes out free of wet batter.  It may still have soft muffin on it but that is due to the big chunks of apple.  This takes about another 20 minutes of baking.

11.  The apples on top of the muffins may look a little dry when they come out but as the muffins cool they soften.  Store in an air tight container in the fridge once they are completely cool.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

