Roasted Vegetables

I haven’t been very good with keeping up on the blog for the past few months.  I got a promotion at work about a year ago and I’ve been so busy I have hardly cooked or baked.  But the sun is shining and summer is finally starting to show its sheepish face here in London and I’m feeling motivated.
I should probably mention that I’m also feeling motived for another reason. I will be (perhaps foolishly) involved in a campaign for one of my company’s clients which will be a Dove-type advert of real women and their journey to find the right undergarments. I think it’s a fantastic idea and I love that this company is so devoted to women.  Saying that, I have 2 weeks until the shoot and since last week I have been getting into my Taebo routine and attempting to eat more responsibly.

I have always loved my Taebo tapes!  Firstly, because Billy Blanks is a fellow Western Pennsylvanian. Second because I can do it in the privacy of my own home.  Third, it’s cheap!  No £75 a month gym bill…thank you Virgin!  No offense to Virgin gyms I actually loved it when I was a member but I just don’t make enough money to keep it up.  My Taebo DVDs were only about £20!

So back to the food!  As soon as the sun comes out I start craving fruit and veg like an addict. Today I bought a small fortune in fruit and veg at the shop and I only think it is going to last me 3 days if that.

One a side note, I try to always bring my own reusable shopping bags to the shop.  I heard that the average lifespan of a plastic grocery bag is 20 minutes from shop to the trash! And most people don’t bother to recycle them! It’s a scary thought of how many of those bags we each throw away everyday blowing around this planet. Ok…I know, back to the food!

When I got home and surveyed my purchase I noted that I had bought a bag of charlotte potatoes, 2 zucchinis (courgettes to the UK), 2 bunches of asparagus, 6 kiwis and a bunch of grapes.  All I could think was that I wanted to get those veggies home and in the oven.  Now the recipe that is going to follow is not even really a recipe.  It’s just a simple and absolutely delicious way to eat vegetables.

Serves:  As many or as little as you like
Difficulty: Easy
Cooking time:  20 – 30 minutes

Ingredients:

Most vegetables (I used charlotte potatoes, zucchinis (courgettes – UK), red pepper, yellow pepper, large red onion, and asparagus.)
Salt and pepper
Extra Virgin Olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the over to 425 F or 220 C.
  2. Prep your vegetables for cooking whatever it may be that is appropriate for each veggie.   For example, I washed and quartered my potatoes, deseeded and sliced my peppers, etc
  3. Spread the veggies out on a baking tray and drizzle extra virgin olive oil over them.  Just enough to cover.  Remember, we are being healthy so we don’t want to drown them.  You don’t have to cover every bit just now.  In a minute you will be tossing it all together so every bit gets covered.
  4. Generously salt and pepper the veggies.  I use coarse sea salt and coarsely ground pepper.
  5. Toss all the veggies together until every bit is covered in the oil and evenly coated in the seasoning.

  6. Pop in the over for 20 – 30 minutes.
  7. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

