Paprika and Lemon Chicken Marinade

I have been testing chicken marinades off and on for the last year hoping that I would find a good staple to add to my collection. I think I may have found it.  I have been feeling motivated lately and hopefully this energy will continue.  I’ve been a busy bee today blogging and working on my little urban garden.

I am not usually good with plants but I am determined and I keep trying but I have no natural talent for it. One of my colleagues grows and sells plants to support his son’s scout troop.  Last year I bought a few veggie plants and in the end I had one slowly dying pepper plant that yielded one sad little red pepper that was 1 inch long!  Mostly this was because I never moved them to bigger pots.

This year I vow to do better! This year I’ve been given to pepper plants and 2 yellow tomato plants.  Today, I transplanted them from there little plastic pots to some bigger ceramic pots.  I even managed to rig some kind of stakes using taped up kabob skewers and twigs. I am resourceful if nothing else. I really hope I get something out of these this year.  So far so good…

Now that I’ve given you a progress report on my green thumb (or green fingers if you are in the UK – weird) let’s get back to the marinade. I apologise that I don’t have an after shot of the grilled chicken I made from this but it was so tasty I ate it before I realised I hadn’t taken a picture!

This marinade is very flavorful and still light with a lemony refreshing nature.
Serves:  4 – 6 pieces of chicken
Difficulty: Easy
Cooking time:  Depending on how you cook the chicken afterward.  But try to marinade overnight or for at least 4 hours.

Ingredients:

1 garlic clove minced
1 medium onion (1/2 large) – minced
1 generous pinch of coarse sea salt
1 generous pinch of coarse pepper
1 lemon
Paprika
Flat leaf parsley – chopped into small piece
Extra Virgin Olive oil

Instructions:

  1. In a large zip lock back pour in about 1/2 cup or 120 ml of extra virgin olive oil.

  2. Add the minced garlic and onion.


  3. Add the parsley and a palm full of paprika.

  4. Add the juice of the lemon to the bag.  Then slice the lemon rest of the lemon up and toss it in as well.

  5. Add your chicken and let marinade for at least 4 hours or overnight if possible.

  6. I grilled my chicken but you could roast it or pan fry it as well.
Leave a Reply

