Grandpap’s Pumpkin Pie

There are a few things my grandpap is famous for in our family. One is that he has been building his house from 30+ years but the one we are concerned with today is his show stopping pumpkin pie. Every Thanksgiving he would break his back making tons of pies not only for the big meal we would all have when we came to visit but for everyone to take at least 2 pies home with them.

Every year we pile around while we are shoveled out giant portions of pumpkin pie with dollops of my grandmother’s homemade whipped cream and we would ask him to tell us again how he makes them. You would think I would remember a recipe that I’d heard every year of my life but alas I’ve never written it down.

A few years ago I decided to just try to make it on my own. I just kept adding spices until it smelled like his version. This recipe is so good that I could honestly eat an entire pie in one sitting. I am pretty sure that I have at some point.

The spice in the pie makes your whole house smell like warm cinnamon and cloves. It gets me in the mood for the holiday season and makes my belly oh so very happy! I hope it does the same for you!

Ingredients:

Pre-prepared pie crust (shortcrust)
Canned pumpkin
Can of evaporated milk
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs (3 small)
3 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground clove
1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven for 350 F or 180 C.
  2. Optional: Blind bake your pie crust. This is a personal preference as you can easily pour it into an unbaked pie crust. I find that the pumpkin mixture does not allow the crust to fully bake and therefore leaves it a bit underdone which some people like. For shortcrust/pie crust recipe click here.  Once the crust in blind baked take it out of the oven and crank the oven up to 425 F.
  3. Add all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  4. Beat together on low until well incorporated.
  5. Pour the mixture into the crust and place in the oven on the middle rack.
  6. Bake the mixture for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick can be placed in the center of the pie and comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool completely before serving with lots of cold whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

