Quaker Oats Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Oatmeal Raisin cookies are so amazing! The spices, the chewiness, the sweet raisins…what isn’t to like?! This recipe is straight from the oatmeal experts at Quaker Oats.  However, I’ve added my little suggestions along the way. These cookies will fill your kitchen with the smell of warm cinnamon and have everyone waiting for them to come out of the oven.

They do tend to dry out quite quickly so make sure you keep them in an air tight container and eat them up within 24 hours.  Del Monte also had a great molasses version which I’ll post next time I whip up a batch.

I really do love baking and I even got to wear the apron I bought at Harrod’s this summer for £5.  It’s a simple green and white apron but I love it because it is feminine and classic.

Just a note to all my friends in the UK, if you want to make any of my recipes but don’t have American measuring cups then use a traditional coffee mug.  It is typically a great substitution.

Difficulty: Easy
Serves: 3-4 dozen depending on how large you make the cookies
Cooking time: 8-10 minutes per batch

Variations: I did some batches with dried cranberries but the flavor seems to be lost in the spices. Walnuts or chocolate chips are also other good variations but I tend to stick to the original.

Ingredients:
(For UK measurements see Tips, Conversions and Substitutes page)

1/2 cup (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)
3 cups Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked) (I use rolled oats and only 2.5 cups)
1 cup raisins (I use 1.5 cups)

Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 F or 160 C.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt and mix.
  3. In large bowl, beat butter and sugars on medium speed of electric mixer until creamy.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.

  5. Add combined flour mixture and stir until just combined.

  6. Add oats and raisins; mix well.


  7. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. I used parchment paper.
  8. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. These are easy to over cook so as soon as the outside looks baked take them out.
  9. Let cookies cool on a wire rack and store in an air tight container once they are completely cooled.

Leave a Reply

