Zucchini Muffins

This recipe is adapted from the Zucchini Walnut Bread recipe in the More from Magnolia cookbook by Allysa Torey of the famed Magnolia Bakery in New York City.  My mother bought me this cookbook as a wedding gift.

This blog is a journey for me as I am still finding my footing in the kitchen.  I have always been a fan of baking but growing up in America so many baked goods are semi-homemade with Betty Crocker and Duncan Hines.  I thought I was a great baker, but I was great at preparing semi-homemade cakes and things.  Which I love by the way, I still can’t make a sponge cake like Betty can!  But I’m working on it…watch this space!

Now that I live in London I find myself craving baked goods or savory dishes from home and cannot find their equals in the shops.  I’m a do-it-yourself girl (mostly due to impatience) and I started learning how to make my favourites from scratch.  I’ve learned so much in the 2 years I’ve lived here and I’ve really discovered a passion.

So back to the recipe…

What I love about this recipe is that you keep the skin on the zucchini (or courgette for my British friends) and when you break the muffin open you see these brilliant flecks of spring green inside.  I made a batch of these for my co-workers (my ever willing recipe test group) and though it was a very foreign idea to them they loved them.  My mother-in-law said they were the “lightest muffins ever.”

These are so yummy served warm with a pat of cold butter.

Tip:  If you fluff the flour with your scoop or cup before you actually scoop the flour it will help add air to the flour and make for lighter muffins.  This was a tip from Ina Garten (not personally) that I’ve found to be a remarkable help.

Difficulty:  Easy
Serves: 
12 muffins
Cooking time:
  45 min – 1 hourVariations:  You can take or leave the walnuts depending on taste.  I also like to add some dried cranberries.  They look very festive with the red and green flecks inside at Christmas time.Ingredients:

Ingredients:
(For UK measurements see Tips, Conversions and Substitutes page)

1 cup plain flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ cup or 120 ml vegetable oil
¾ cup sugar
2 eggs
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup shredded zucchini (with skins), this is about 1 medium sized zucchini
¾ cup chopped walnuts (optional)
½ cup dried cranberries (optional)

Instructions:
  1. Preheat over to 350˚F or 180˚C.
  2. Line the muffin pan with muffin cases or if you do not have any cups grease the tin well and the top.
  3. Combine the dry ingredients in a small bowl including the walnuts and dried cranberries if wanted.
  4. In a larger bowl, beat oil, sugar, eggs and vanilla together on a medium speed for 3 minutes.
  5. Add the zucchini and mix.
  6. Add the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Do NOT overwork the mixture.
  7. Pour into muffin cases until ¾ full and wipe away any spillage on the top of the muffin pan.
  8. Bake on the center rack of the oven for 45 – 60 minutes.  They will look slightly under done on the top but when tested with a toothpick will come out clean.  Do not wait for the top to look done or the muffins will lose their lightness.
  9. Remove from oven and leave in the tin for 5 minutes.  Then remove and cool on a wire rack.
  10. Will keep well in an air tight container but as with most recipes involving fruit or vegetables you may want to keep the container in the fridge if not serving that day.
Leave a Reply

